Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

jeff's squirrel

Living the Wild Life

5 Comments

When I tell you we live the wild life in our office, I mean The. Wild. Life. Is this normal or do things like this happen everywhere?

I went in the storeroom at work the other day to get a container of cranberry juice. We’re big juice drinkers at my POE (place of employment) and we buy the stuff in big super-thirsty-giant-sized bottles. (About a gallon in each.)

So I pulled a jug off the shelf, and out popped a huge, furry creature.

I SCREAMED!!!

It hopped down and scurried across the floor, flashing his furry tail at me.

I was still yodeling so loud, my son, whose office is in the very opposite end of the building, heard me and came running. My heart raced faster than the squirrel’s furry little feet carried him, and it was half-an-hour before I could actually breathe again.

The squirrel disappeared among the boxes of files we have stored back there. (Thank you, Jesus!)

But he really liked the area where we keep the juice, because the next time I walked into the room (I forgot he was there) he jumped down, sending me into a screeching fit while I danced out of the room.

Squirrels don’t bother me when we’re outside where there’s lots of room (for me to escape) or I’m in the car and they’re playing kamikaze in the street, but when I’m in a small-ish room with the sharp toothed little devils, I’m a Pure-Dee Chicken.

Pure. Dee. (Not sure exactly what that means, but I was.)

So . . . Wonder Son, Wonder Niece and her three year old son closed themselves in with the furry-tailed tormentor and attempted to capture it.

I hear there’s a video of the squirrelly party, but I haven’t seen it. They tell me fur-boy circled the room again and again. He ran across toes, jumped over heads and terrorized more than just me.

All I could hear from the kitchen (where I hiding waiting) was thumping and shouting, but no painful shrieks, so I figured they hadn’t been nipped. Yet.

After another safari or two by employees, we gave up and begged Cousin Rick to bring his humane trap, which he did.

For scaring me so badly, I reserved the right to smack the critter after he was caught, but once he was in the cage,

squirrelboy-1

he was smaller (I think he shrunk. I really do.) and not nearly as monster-like.

squirrelboy-2

Besides, I didn’t want to get that close. (Wonder Niece took the close up. NOT ME!)

I’m just glad it wasn’t a skunk!

On the up side, we’ve only had one bat sighting this year, and I wasn’t there for it. :)

Does anyone else have these close encounters with Wild Life or is it just us?

From FBF and almost relative, Larry Lawrence. Thanks, Larry! Love it.

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

5 thoughts on “Living the Wild Life

  1. There is room in your life for this Ray Steven’s song and video. :-)

  2. I love reading your posts. I have nominated you for a Liebster Award. You can read about The Liebster Award at http://lilliesloves.wordpress.com/2014/03/16/liebster-award/

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,743 other followers