Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Ongoing Thankfulness

4 Comments

 

I know Thanksgiving is over, but is it ever really time to stop being grateful?

No!

Anyway, that’s my excuse for posting about Thanksgiving at this late date. :)

stw thanksgivingadored Thanksgiving until I started doing all the work. (I’ve never done ALL the work, but often it seems that way! LOL)

Perfect Hostess (Sister Debbie) invited the family to her house for the holiday.

janyce's-fireplace

Sweet Janyce’s fireplace in Deb’s house. Perfect fit!

My kiddos were all with the in-laws, so I went to Deb’s.

Then on Friday, G-Man and I met four of our six kiddos. Can you guess where we went?

queen-of-the-sea

Isn’t she gorgeous? Many people never notice her, so lets try this picture. Does it tell you anything?

across-the-way

The view from our balcony.

I know this one will give it away.

crescent-hotel-signOur hotel is advertised on this building. Crescent Hotel in Eureka Springs. We had adjoining rooms and used the same balcony. It was great!

our-balcony2A little chilly to sit out at night, but we enjoyed it anyway.

I wanted to take a family picture, but #3 son received a phone call that sent him flying home (someone tested their burglar alarm for them) before #2 son could get there. But I got a few almost family pictures.

3-4-of-the-crewThis one is my favorite. (Me: “Smile, Gary.” Gary: “I am smiling.”)

#1 son (the idea guy) thought of this one.

part of the crewFor some reason I had a little trouble getting rid of the red in my sweater. Kind of fun, though, isn’t it? :)

Our hotel is supposed to be haunted. We didn’t have any visitors, but this lamp had a little extra spirit.

haunted-lampIt kept going on and off. (Probably a wiring thing, but hey, haunted works, too.)

nikki-and-matt

The missing kiddos, Nikki and Matt.

I have my fingers crossed for a Christmas family picture. “Everyone wear your pajamas!” :)

Someone asked me what we do in Eureka Springs, we go there so often. Hmmm. Good question. Well, I love the shops. I look to look at antiques. And there are some wonderful places to eat. It’s  a great place to hang out and be with family and watch people.

I love watching people. Don’t you?

Back to Ongoing Thankfulness. I’m oh, so very thankful every day for my family and my friends. All of them!

How about you. Now that the month for telling everyday something that you’re thankful for is over, are you still thankful?

For what?

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

4 thoughts on “Ongoing Thankfulness

  1. Enjoyed this so much Susan.wonderful pictures ! Thanks for sharing.I’m sure they are thankful for you, I know I am. happy thanksgiving and christmas !

  2. For me, Thanksgiving is just the kick off. I love this time of year–family, cooking, craziness–even if I am exhausted come 12/26.

    • It’s kind of like the starting gun going off, isn’t it, Rhenna?
      Just, BOOM! And we’re on a downhill slide to the Big Day!
      All you can do is grab on, hold tight and pray you make it through to the end. (And that everyone gets the presents they want most.)
      Thanks for dropping by and Merry Christmas!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,642 other followers