Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Fun, Friends and Beavers

3 Comments

A long time ago, G-Man and I lived in Ponca City, Oklahoma. (My postman called it Punkin Center.) That was before kiddos and before I started writing down my stories.

Yesterday, Dad and I went back to that part of the world. We didn’t go to the house where G-man and I lived, but we were close. Made me think about all the people I knew back then. Those were nice people (hey, they were Okies, how could they not be nice?) but sadly, I haven’t stayed in touch with them.

Dad and I met a family yesterday, though, that felt as if we’d known them forever. The wife was sweet, friendly and funny! (A requirement in my Small Town World.)

Her house was already Christmas ready and gorgeous! The thing is, you could have transferred everything from her house to Sister Debbie’s house, and it would have been perfect. (Deb would have loved it!)

She even had some of the same things I’ve seen at Sister Debbie’s house. Her attitude as a stay-at-home mom was just like Deb’s. And more than her things and attitude, her heart was very familiar!

Her husband’s pride in her was obvious, and her joy at being married to him was there for everyone to see. We met their son, and I have to tell you, he was a boy to be proud of!

The boy is a hunter and fisherman. A kiddo who reminded me a lot of Brother Jeffrey! Not only that, but he was nice and actually carried on a conversation with us adults!

Funny thing, even though there had been problems and tragedies in their lives, this family was fun to be around. We really could have been related! And we might be family in Christ. (I didn’t ask, though.)

When we left this wonderful homey house (complete with pumpkin cookies Daddy loved) we drove through the countryside so we could check on some of our farms.

We stopped on a bridge at the edge of a farm so I could get a picture.

beaver-2

I had to have a picture of this beaver’s dam. See it in the middle there, kinda looking like a bridge? LOL.

I’ll try again.

Damming the creek!

Damming the creek!

See it now? Too cool for school, huh? There was one on the other side of the bridge, too . . .

another-dam

Looks like a pretty creek where beaver would love to live.

another-closeup

See it, there in the middle? It’s a half-dam. Dad said it had been washed away sometime. We saw another beaver dam while we drove, so we figured there must be quite a population of beaver in that area.

BTW: Did you know beavers mate for life? There’s a couple making a home right there.

We went on to the Kay County Courthouse from there and then to visit the FSA office, where we visited with friends. (Have I mentioned how much I enjoy meeting and remeeting people? They’re just so much fun!)

It was a long day (even with Dad driving) but after a dip of Cherries, Pecans and Cream on a waffle cone (anybody?) I perked up a little. And God gave us a great gift to get us home–

sky-high I couldn’t do the sky justice, but I tried.

It really was a beautiful day. One that’ll live in my memory for a long, long time! (I meet a lot of people I enjoy, but rarely meet folks I feel as if I’ve known for a long time like this family.)

How about you? Do you enjoy meeting new people or are  you happy hanging with the people already in your sphere?

 

 

 

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “Fun, Friends and Beavers

  1. I was wondering where this year’s snowfall was on your page and all of a sudden it appeared. How kewl is that. :-)

  2. Your blog was wonderful Susan!! I have missed your writing!! I do enjoy meeting and re-meeting people!! I have met so many wonderful people this past 10 years in our travels and have loved the experiences !!! Give your family, all of them, my love and Merry Christmas wishes!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,647 other followers