Susan Spess Shay

Still playing make believe.

Thankful Thursday–Mary

3 Comments

Do you have a friend you love dearly, who might be near or far but whose orbit just doesn’t cross yours? And so you go for months or years without getting together?

I did.

G-Man and I were invited to go to dinner with old friends Saturday night, and we went. Unusual! But I have to tell you we had a fantastic time!

They are the friends who set us up on our blind date, and as I’ve said before, on most days, I’m über grateful. LOL. Just joking. I’m grateful everyday!

Anyway, we met our friends Saturday night at Abuelos for dinner. It’s been several years since we’d seen them, but once we got together, it was as if we hadn’t been apart.

Mary, the real instigator of our blind date, is still just as amazing as she ever was (if not more so!) She still knows exactly where she’s going, what she wants and how she’s going to get there. I so envy that.

From the day I met her, I’ve been amazed by her cool calmness, no matter what was happening around us. When I got into a flap (think of a mad, wet hen) she waited quietly until I took a breath and then calmed me down.

She still has her beautiful, mysterious smile. Makes her look as if she has a secret amusement. Not like me at all. When I smile, my grin takes my face hostage and my eyes all but disappear. :)

Mary has always been slender and worn the newest fashions as if they were created for her. She designed and sewed her own clothes. If she hadn’t been in fashion merchandising, she could easily  have been a model.

And she hasn’t changed a bit. She’s still tall, cool and slender. Her eyes twinkle her smile before it eases onto her mouth, and she has the ability to make everyone in a group feel . . . well, cherished.

And she teaches yoga. I’ve never actually done yoga, but it’s perfect for Mary. “It doesn’t just affect your body, but also your mind and spirit.” (I’m trying to think of a way to get her to teach a class here in C-Town.)

I was very impressed with the way she speaks of God–as if He’s there next to her (He is!) and He just might speak up at any moment. Don’t you love being with people who acknowledge God as part of every moment?

I’m so very thankful for the time we had together! More than that, our time together filled a place inside me I hadn’t realized had emptied.

Do you have a friend you love but haven’t found time to be with? Do it. You’ll be thankful you did.

Do you have a friend you reconnected with recently? Share it. WE’LL be glad you did.

Author: Susan Shay

For as long as I can remember, I've loved two things--reading and people--and that led me to become a writer. Many of my stories are set in Small Town Worlds. I'm a wife, mother, sibling and an aunt. I have a deep faith in God, and an exciting life in Christ. Maybe I shouldn't be (after all, he's God!) but I'm constantly amazed at the things He's up to. :)

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday–Mary

  1. Pingback: Thankful Thursday | We're Jumpin

  2. Oh, Susan! You are SO eloquent and flattering to me. It really tells a lot about a friendship-and sisterhood-when you can pick up right where you left off. You shimmer and spread happiness to everyone you know and new people you meet. Just let me know where and when—I will gladly share the gift of yoga with anyone who is willing there in C-Town!
    (By the way, where was that picture taken? I don’t remember having that much hair!!!)

    • You’re so nice, Mary! No wonder we became instant friends. :)
      I can’t wait to spread the word you’ll yoga-tize us. There’s no telling how many people will want to play.
      The picture is from my wedding reception. You’re still gorgeous. I love your hair!

I'm so glad you dropped by my Small Town World! Hope you'll leave a comment. I really enjoy hearing from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,743 other followers